Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Announcement

From http://elag2011.techlib.cz/en/840-your-website-is-your-api-how-to-integrate-your-library-into-the-web-of-data-using-rdfa/.

Title: Your Website is your API - How to integrate your Library into the Web of Data using RDFa

Audience: Librarians and technicians interested in Linked Open Data and the related technologies, Webmasters
Short description: Libraries and related institutions have begun to migrate legacy data such as bibliographic records, authority data and holdings information from traditional subject-specific data formats to a general standard that is inherently web-compatible and interdisciplinary: RDF (Resource Description Framework). This step allows library data to be truly integrated into the World Wide Web and to be linked to other data. But it is not only "classic" catalogue-data that is important to information seekers. Moreover, information about the institutions themselves, their collections, opening hours, holdings, contact options and lending possibilities is of interest.

Most libraries nowadays have a website, which they use to present such information in a human-readable way. This bootcamp focusses on how to enhance these websites using RDFa, which basically means adding semantic attributes to the underlying HTML, effectively turning the website into a machine-readable interface - an API. This API can then be used by aggregators to provide new services, e.g. by search engines to enhance their search results.

The bootcamp deals with conceptual questions, including a discussion of possible vocabularies that can be used to describe libraries and their services, as well as with technical details on how to enrich library websites with RDFa. In the practical part of the workshop we will create descriptions in HTML+RDFa for some institutions the attendees work in. In the end we would like to discuss the question on how to spread these practices in the international library community.

Bootcamp outcomes:

  • The attendees have learned about the basic concepts of RDFa.
  • The attendees have learned how to implement RDFa on their websites.
  • The attendees have internalized the acquired knowledge by applying it to their own institution's website.
  • Perspectives for broadening RDFa implementation in the international library community have been discussed.

Resources

Registrants

Name

E-Mail

Institution

Country

Mr. Adrian Pohl

pohl@hbz-nrw.de

hbz

Germany

Mr. Felix Ostrowski

felix.ostrowski@googlemail.com

hbz

Germany

Mr. Ad Aerts

ad@adaerts.nl

Sichting sArte.nl

Netherlands

Ms. Trinidad Almansa Ortiz

bibpra@cervantes.es

Biblioteca de Andalucía

Spain

Mr. Alain Borel

alain.borel@epfl.ch

Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne - Bibliotheque

Switzerland

Ms. Rosemie Callewaert

rosemie.callewaert@bibnet.be

Bibnet

Belgium

Ms. Karen Coombs

coombsk@oclc.org

OCLC

USA

Mr. Viktor Harej

viktor.harej@gmail.com

University of Ljubljana

Slovenia

Mr. Till Kinstler

kinstler@gbv.de

Verbundzentrale des GBV

Germany

Mr. Lukas Koster

l.koster@uva.nl

Library of the University of Amsterdam

The Netherlands

Mr. Vlastimil Krejčíř

krejcir@ics.muni.cz

Masaryk University, Institute of Computer Science

Czech Republic

Ms. Lucie Martincová

bibx1pra@cervantes.es

Instituto Cervantes

Czech Republic

Mr. Tanja Merčun

tanja.mercun@gmail.com

University of Ljubljana

Slovenia

Mr. Jindřich Mynarz

mynarzjindrich@gmail.com

National Technical Library

Czech Republic

Ms. Kristin Olofsson

kristin.olofsson@kb.se

Libris/National Library of Sweden

Sweden

Mr. Benoit Pauwels

bpauwels@ulb.ac.be

Université libre de Bruxelles

Belgium

Ms. Marjo Perälä

marjo.perala@rovaniemi.fi

Rovaniemi City Library

Finland

Mr. Jiří Rataj

rataj@cuni.cz

University of Economics, Prague

Czech Republic

Mr. Omar Reygaert

Omar.Reygaert@UGent.be

Ghent University Library

Belgium

Mr. Ramon Ros

rros@cbuc.cat

CBUC

Spain

Mr. Thomas Rosemann

rose@kunsthaus.ch

Kunsthaus Zürich, Bibliothek

Switzerland

Ms. Francisca Segura

bibpra@cervantes.es

Instituto Cervantes

Czech Republic

Mr. Johan Stapel

johan.stapel@bibliotheek.nl

Bibliotheek.nl

The Netherlands

Mr. Erik Stattin

erik.stattin@ki.se

Karolinska Institutet University Library

Sweden

Ms. Jane Stevenson

jane.stevenson@manchester.ac.uk

The University of Manchester

England

Mr. Adrian Stevenson

a.stevenson@ukoln.ac.uk

UKOLN, University of Bath

UK

Mr. Ctibor Škuta

skuta.ctibor@gmail.com

National technical library

Czech Republic

Ms. Marie Widigson

marie.widigson@chalmers.se

Chalmers Library

Sweden

Mr. Petr Žabička

zabak@mzk.cz

Moravian Library

Czech Republic

Workshop Outline

Approximate Time

Agenda

10:00

Round of introductions

10:15

Background: A Linked Data based index of library institutions (slides)

10:30

Example: A brief introduction to RDFa based on the NTK website (slides)

11:00

Coffee

11:15

Tools of the trade: W3C-RDFa-Distiller, W3C-RDF-Validation-Service

11:30

Teamwork: Describing some of the participants institutions

12:30

Lunch

13:30

Teamwork Review

14:00

Example: Modelling further information provided by the NTK website

14:15

Teamwork: Enhancements of the descriptions

15:45

Coffee

16:00

Further vocabularies and a general model for institutional description (Organization Ontology, DCCAP etc.)

16:20

hbz-work: Online RDFa generator, RDF-harvester, lobid.org

16:40

Discussion: Problems and Perspectives

Q & A

Q: I want to describe an organization which doesn't have an HTTP-URI (like a lobid.org-URI) yet? What should I do?
A: One can take eg. the URL of the organization's website or other information page and construct a hash URI based on it. Example: http://www.hbz-nrw.de#thing or http://www.hbz-nrw.de#organisation

Resources

Slides & other material

  File Modified
PDF File lobid.pdf 24.05.2011 by Adrian Pohl
PDF File rdfa_intro.pdf 24.05.2011 by Adrian Pohl
PDF File outline.pdf 24.05.2011 by Adrian Pohl
ZIP Archive ELAG2011-RDFa-examples.zip 24.05.2011 by Adrian Pohl
ZIP Archive ELAG2011_extended-RDFa-examples.zip 24.05.2011 by Adrian Pohl

Tools

Further information

  • No labels