Quelle anzeigen

h1. Announcement

From [http://elag2011.techlib.cz/en/840-your-website-is-your-api-how-to-integrate-your-library-into-the-web-of-data-using-rdfa/].

_Title:_ *Your Website is your API - How to integrate your Library into the Web of Data using RDFa*

_Audience:_ Librarians and technicians interested in Linked Open Data and the related technologies, Webmasters
_Short description:_ Libraries and related institutions have begun to migrate legacy data such as bibliographic records, authority data and holdings information from traditional subject-specific data formats to a general standard that is inherently web-compatible and interdisciplinary: RDF (Resource Description Framework). This step allows library data to be truly integrated into the World Wide Web and to be linked to other data. But it is not only "classic" catalogue-data that is important to information seekers. Moreover, information about the institutions themselves, their collections, opening hours, holdings, contact options and lending possibilities is of interest.

Most libraries nowadays have a website, which they use to present such information in a human-readable way. This bootcamp focusses on how to enhance these websites using RDFa, which basically means adding semantic attributes to the underlying HTML, effectively turning the website into a machine-readable interface - an API. This API can then be used by aggregators to provide new services, e.g. by search engines to enhance their search results.

The bootcamp deals with conceptual questions, including a discussion of possible vocabularies that can be used to describe libraries and their services, as well as with technical details on how to enrich library websites with RDFa. In the practical part of the workshop we will create descriptions in HTML+RDFa for some institutions the attendees work in. In the end we would like to discuss the question on how to spread these practices in the international library community.

_Bootcamp outcomes:_

* The attendees have learned about the basic concepts of RDFa.
* The attendees have learned how to implement RDFa on their websites.
* The attendees have internalized the acquired knowledge by applying it to their own institution's website.
* Perspectives for broadening RDFa implementation in the international library community have been discussed.

* http://www.alistapart.com/articles/introduction-to-rdfa/
* http://www.alistapart.com/articles/introduction-to-rdfa-ii/
* http://lobid.org/en/organisation.html
* http://blog.lobid.org/2010/07/building-linked-data-based-index-of.html
* http://www.slideshare.net/literarymachine/slides-4805597
* http://www.google.com/support/webmasters/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=99170

h1. Registrants

|Mr. Adrian Pohl|pohl@hbz-nrw.de| hbz|Germany|
|Mr. Felix Ostrowski|felix.ostrowski@googlemail.com|hbz|Germany|
|Mr. Ad Aerts |ad@adaerts.nl |Sichting sArte.nl|Netherlands|
|Ms. Trinidad Almansa Ortiz|bibpra@cervantes.es|Biblioteca de Andalucía|Spain|
|Mr. Alain Borel|alain.borel@epfl.ch|Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne - Bibliotheque|Switzerland|
|Ms. Rosemie Callewaert|rosemie.callewaert@bibnet.be|Bibnet|Belgium|
|Ms. Karen Coombs|coombsk@oclc.org|OCLC|USA|
|Mr. Viktor Harej|viktor.harej@gmail.com|University of Ljubljana|Slovenia|
|Mr. Till Kinstler|kinstler@gbv.de|Verbundzentrale des GBV|Germany|
|Mr. Lukas Koster|l.koster@uva.nl|Library of the University of Amsterdam|The Netherlands|
|Mr. Vlastimil Krejčíř| krejcir@ics.muni.cz|Masaryk University, Institute of Computer Science|Czech Republic|
|Ms. Lucie Martincová|bibx1pra@cervantes.es|Instituto Cervantes|Czech Republic|
|Mr. Tanja Merčun|tanja.mercun@gmail.com|University of Ljubljana|Slovenia|
|Mr. Jindřich Mynarz|mynarzjindrich@gmail.com|National Technical Library|Czech Republic|
|Ms. Kristin Olofsson|kristin.olofsson@kb.se|Libris/National Library of Sweden|Sweden|
|Mr. Benoit Pauwels|bpauwels@ulb.ac.be| Université libre de Bruxelles| Belgium|
|Ms. Marjo Perälä|marjo.perala@rovaniemi.fi|Rovaniemi City Library|Finland|
|Mr. Jiří Rataj|rataj@cuni.cz|University of Economics, Prague|Czech Republic|
|Mr. Omar Reygaert|Omar.Reygaert@UGent.be|Ghent University Library|Belgium|
|Mr. Ramon Ros|rros@cbuc.cat|CBUC|Spain|
|Mr. Thomas Rosemann|rose@kunsthaus.ch|Kunsthaus Zürich, Bibliothek|Switzerland|
|Ms. Francisca Segura|bibpra@cervantes.es|Instituto Cervantes|Czech Republic|
|Mr. Johan Stapel|johan.stapel@bibliotheek.nl|Bibliotheek.nl|The Netherlands|
|Mr. Erik Stattin|erik.stattin@ki.se|Karolinska Institutet University Library|Sweden|
|Ms. Jane Stevenson|jane.stevenson@manchester.ac.uk|The University of Manchester|England|
|Mr. Adrian Stevenson|a.stevenson@ukoln.ac.uk|UKOLN, University of Bath|UK|
|Mr. Ctibor Škuta|skuta.ctibor@gmail.com|National technical library|Czech Republic|
|Ms. Marie Widigson|marie.widigson@chalmers.se|Chalmers Library|Sweden|
|Mr. Petr Žabička|zabak@mzk.cz|Moravian Library|Czech Republic|

h1. Workshop Outline

||Approximate Time||Agenda||
|10:00|Round of introductions|
|10:15|Background: A Linked Data based index of library institutions ([slides|^lobid.pdf])|
|10:30|Example: A brief introduction to RDFa based on the NTK website ([slides|^rdfa_intro.pdf])|
|11:15|Tools of the trade: W3C-RDFa-Distiller, W3C-RDF-Validation-Service|
|11:30|Teamwork: Describing some of the participants institutions|
|13:30|Teamwork Review|
|14:00|Example: Modelling further information provided by the NTK website|
|14:15|Teamwork: Enhancements of the descriptions|
|15:45 |Coffee|
|16:00|Further vocabularies and a general model for institutional description (Organization Ontology, DCCAP etc.)|
|16:20|hbz-work: Online RDFa generator, RDF-harvester, lobid.org|
|16:40 |Discussion: Problems and Perspectives|

h1. Q & A

_Q: I want to describe an organization which doesn't have an HTTP-URI (like a lobid.org-URI) yet? What should I do?_
A: One can take eg. the URL of the organization's website or other information page and construct a hash URI based on it. Example:
http://www.hbz-nrw.de#thing or http://www.hbz-nrw.de#organisation

h1. Resources

h2. Slides & other material


h2. Tools

* [W3C RDFa distiller|http://www.w3.org/2007/08/pyRdfa/]
* [W3C RDF Validator|http://www.w3.org/RDF/Validator/]
* [Online RDFa generator (Test view, Alpha)|http://demo.literarymachine.net/organisation/XY-Test/about/edit]
* [Live Loop|http://rdfa.digitalbazaar.com/live-loop/] ("Live Loop lets you play with HTML+RDFa markup and instantly see the data that your markup produces.")

h2. Further information

* [Representing vCard in RDF|http://www.w3.org/Submission/vcard-rdf/] (W3C member submission) N.B.: The use of vCard in the bootcamp follows the (simpler and more elegant) practice of the GoodRelations ontology which differs slightly from the submission as it eliminates the vCard class and e.g. attaches address information directly to the organisation. See this [example|http://www.ebusiness-unibw.org/wiki/GoodRelationsQuickstart#Company].
* [Howto - Describing libraries, their collections and services in RDF] (to be extended)